NBSC Balgowlah Boys Campus logo

NBSC Balgowlah Boys Campus

NBSC Balgowlah Boys Campus

The Boys Campus of the Northern Beaches Secondary College

Telephone02 9949 4200



The study of mathematics is mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10. 

By studying mathematics, students learn to work mathematically – developing fluency, understanding, problem-solving, reasoning and communication skills.

The syllabus consists of the following strands:

  • number and algebra
  • measurement and geometry
  • statistics and probability.

In Year 11 and 12, the study of mathematics is optional. Courses offered include:

  • Mathematics Extension 2 (Year 12 only)
  • Mathematics Extension 1
  • Mathematics Advanced
  • Mathematics Standard 2
  • Mathematics Standard 1 (Optional HSC examination)
  • Mathematics Life Skills.

"To have boys appreciate the value of Mathematics through a supportive and innovative environment"



The Balgowlah Boys Campus Mathematics Faculty aims to develop the student’s ability to think mathematically and become confident and creative problem solvers. Our mission statement reads as "To have boys appreciate the value of Mathematics through a supportive and innovative environment", and this underpins all that we do. We aim for excellence and achieving your personal best. Our recent strong results in the HSC and Naplan are a great reward for the consistent efforts the boys have been making.

The staff are dedicated in assisting the boys reach their potential and develop a concrete understanding of the fundamental principles of Mathematics, and its relevance and application to their later lives. Students are encouraged to approach the Mathematics staff for help at any time.

We offer extra help - drop in sessions for 2019 are:

Tuesday Lunch in A306

Wednesday 8.15am - 8.55am in A303

Thursday 8am- 8.55am in A301

Friday 3.30pm onwards in A304 


Mathematics Faculty Staff

Please don't hesitate to contact us for any inquiry

Mr Chris Hickford (Head Teacher)

Joanna Anderson

Nour Assi

Renato Carini

Amelia Dale

Robert Dykstra

Rachel Jenkinson

Ray Rankin

Dave Sharma

Andrew Songsermmongkol

Liang Wee